You are here
Home > Uncategorized > Jeremy Vine to host 21st Rail Business Awards

Jeremy Vine to host 21st Rail Business Awards

UK: The rail industry is gearing up for the 21st Rail Business Awards which take place at the London Hilton on Park Lane on February 21 2019.

This year the evening will be hosted by broadcaster and journalist Jeremy Vine. Best known as the host of his own BBC Radio 2 show, Vine regularly covers railway stories within the consumer affairs strand of the programme. No stranger to awards himself, Vine was named Speech Broadcaster of the Year at the 2005 and 2011 Sony Awards.

Widely considered to be one of the best networking opportunities in the UK rail industry calendar, the Rail Business Awards will bring together more than 600 industry leaders, politicians and CEOs to the annual event which is once again being organised by the Railway Gazette Group. This will be the first chance to reflect on the successes of 2018 and celebrate excellence across all aspects of Britain’s railways.

The shortlist for the 2019 Rail Business Awards shows the breadth of talent and expertise across the UK rail sector, with nominees representing businesses of all sizes from across the UK rail supply chain.

The awards recognise both the work done daily across the industry to keep passengers and freight on the move and also the research and innovation taking place behind the scenes as suppliers and operators strive to improve performance and efficiency as well as creating the foundations of the railway of the future.

The importance of the awards can also be seen by the list of high profile sponsors who continue to demonstrate their support for the hard work and effort of the many entrants and nominees, as well as the winners on the night.

Much of the ongoing research and development is focussing on what has been branded the Digital Railway, and a number of projects shortlisted for the 2019 awards reflect this. In addition, safety continues to be the highest priority for Britain’s rail operators and the drive for continual improvement in this area stands out strongly across the many of this year’s shortlisted entrants.  

Leave a Reply